top of page

2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

The 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is scheduled to be the eighth ICC Men’s T20 World Cup tournament scheduled to be played in Australia from 16 October to 13 November 2022. Originally, the tournament was to be held in 2020, however, in July 2020, the International Cricket Council (ICC) confirmed that the tournament had been postponed, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In August 2020, the ICC also confirmed that Australia would host the rearranged tournament in 2022, with the T20 World Cup scheduled to take place in India in 2021 as originally planned, but was later moved to UAE and Oman. On 21 January 2022, the ICC confirmed all the fixtures for the tournament. Hosts Australia are also the defending champions.

The twelve teams that reached the Super 12 phase of the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup automatically qualified for the 2022 tournament. Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan, New Zealand and South Africa all qualified directly for the Super 12 phase of this tournament, based on their performances in the 2021 tournament and their rankings as of 15 November 2021. Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka and the West Indies were all placed in the group stage of the competition.

The remaining four places came from the top two teams from each of the two Global Qualifiers. The Global Qualifiers had a total of sixteen teams; the bottom four teams from the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup (Ireland, Netherlands, Oman and Papua New Guinea), the next four highest ranked T20I sides (Zimbabwe, Nepal, the United Arab Emirates and Singapore), and the eight teams that progressed from the Regional Finals. From the Global Qualifier A tournament, Ireland and the United Arab Emirates progressed to the T20 World Cup.

The UAE won the Global Qualifier A to be placed in Group A of the T20 World Cup, with Ireland placed in Group B. From the Global Qualifier B tournament, the Netherlands and Zimbabwe became the final two teams to qualify for the T20 World Cup. Zimbabwe won the Global Qualifier B tournament to be placed in Group B of the T20 World Cup, with the Netherlands being placed in Group A.

The host cities are Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney. The semi-finals would take place at the Sydney Cricket Ground and the Adelaide Oval, with the final taking place at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

18 views0 comments
bottom of page